Do you want to work as a contractor in Nebraska? Then, you are at the right place! We collected here all the necessary things you need to know about the NE contractor classifications, licenses, and, why not, benefits you will have.
Let’s start our contractor’s journey from the beginning.
Do you think if you are considered a contractor or not? Because this is the first thing you should understand before starting your contractor license search.
To be considered as a contractor you should:
If you want to be a contractor in NE you should have a license.
Nebraska Department of Labor (NDOL) registers the contractors operating in NE. But there are exceptions as well.
There’s one thing that may make the licensing process a bit different. But there’s no need to worry if you are aware of the law.
Licensing process is not the same throughout the whole NE. It may completely differ from county to county. Moreover, the differences may apply even to fees.
Thus, you might, perhaps, need multiple licenses to operate in different counties.
First, you will escape the fine. NE put a legal $500 fine for contractors who have no license. Besides, you will pay additional fines based on county.
But escaping the fine is not the only benefit. There are many other good license sides.
A general contractor is just like a manager. But in this case, the manager of the construction. The specialist is responsible for almost everything connected with the construction.
NE made the general contractor licensing process rather easy. Unlike Missouri, there are no exams for a general contractor in NE.
This is a two-edged sword. From one point, it is easier to get a license without a qualifying license. It helps more people to have a job. From another point, it contains risks. For example, a non-professional specialist may get a license. Anyway, that’s the NE law and we should follow it.
Now let’s take a look at the general contractor license process.
The fee for a license is $40. It is important to mention that you should renew your license each year. Each year you should pay the same fee.
NDOL has a Contractor online registration portal. There, you can apply online for the contractor’s license.
There is some information you should provide.
However, you should take into account one important fact. An only state license isn’t enough to operate everywhere. You still need the license from the county you are operating.
You may use the same online portal for a county license. Besides, you should provide some additional details. For example, the name of the county and address you are going to work. Also, the project duration. If you have any subcontractors you should mention them.
Do you want to become an electrician in NE? Then, you need to have a license. You should also take the exam. Otherwise, you will face some strict punishments. You will have to spend 1 year in prison. Besides, you will pay 1 thousand dollars.
NE Electrical Division is responsible for the licenses. You should apply to complete the Electrical License Application form.
The division is also responsible for renewing contractor licenses. Generally, it sends renewal notices on October 18.
Your electrical license is valid till the last day of the even year. Hence, you should renew the license before the due date.
To continue work as an electrician you should:
Note: The educational program is not a must for apprentice electricians.
Nebraska has a special agreement with South Dakota and Minnesota. It allows electrical contractors from there to operate in NE.
You should have a minimum of 4 years of relevant experience in your field. The electrical division should confirm the journeyman experience. Otherwise, you will get a restricted license. Thus, you will not be able to work also in South Dakota and Minnesota.
The fee to apply is $60.
The license itself will cost either $25 or $50. It will be based on years with even and odd numbers.
In this case, the specialist should have a minimum of 3 years of experience. It also should be confirmed by the division. The license is for only doing installations that are residential.
The fee for the application is the same as for the journeyman. Also, the same fee for the license.
An Apprentice electrician license gives no independence. As long as the electrician should be under supervision. Besides, the license is not for doing any kind of job. There are some restrictions as well. For example, you can’t install any electrical tools.
The fee for the license is $20 or $40. Again, based on the years.
The electrical contractor must have a degree. It can be from both college and university. The 4-year electrician course is a must.
It is also a must to have a minimum of 5-year experience. During that years the electrician should conduct various jobs. For instance, deal with electrical tools, light, and so on.
Besides, the contractor should be a journeyman prior. The 1 year is a must.
To apply you should pay $125.
The license will be $125 or $250. It is also based on the years.
NE has 2 kinds of elevator specialist licenses. First, the license for the mechanics. Second, the license for the contractor.
The elevator contractor should have a license. It gives the commissioner.
You should also provide some information.
Do you want to repair or install elevators? You will need an elevator mechanic license. In this case, again the commissioner is responsible for the license.
You should provide all the data for the elevator contractor.
The only difference may be the application forms. Because the form chooses the commissioner.
NE isn’t responsible for plumbing contractor licenses. The duty lays on individual counties.
But there is one common thing. Almost all cities have an exam. This is a must to work as a plumber.
It is also a must to have relevant education. The duration of the education differs.
You can be an apprentice, journeyman, or master plumber.
NE is again not responsible for HVAC licenses. Each county has its own rules. It may even differ from city to city.
There are also no experience requirements. Thus, you can apply for a master HVAC contractor without experience. But in most cases, there is an exam. The exam criteria also vary from place to place.
However, there is a general requirement. It applies to all US states. There is an HVAC federal credential. It is a special certificate to ensure safety. Because there are cases when you deal with dangerous substances.