Search and verify licenses
Sample Nebraska Tattoo License

Nebraska Tattoo License

Anyone who wants to practice this profession in the state must obtain a Nebraska tattoo license. In addition, these certified specialists ought to work in Nebraska-certified body art facilities. The governmental body that issues credentials is the DHHS (Department of Health and Human Services).

How to get a license to tattoo?

The procedure seems complicated only at first glance. Here is the step-by-step process made easy for your convenience.

Selection of certification type

Above all, keep in mind that there are various types of permits in NE. You have to determine which one you would better obtain. Below all types are listed.

  • Body art facility
  • Tattooist
  • Brander
  • Piercer
  • Permanent Color Technician

The first is an establishment and the other four are artist permits. Many cities or counties require establishment certification too. To be sure your region needs it just check with the local office.

Submission of documents

Next, each sort of permit out of these two requires slightly different docs.

For tattooing, branding, piercing, or permanent color technology professionals there is one application. The steps below can be of help to you:

  • Complete the form
  • Provide proof of US citizenship or lawful presence (e.g. a passport, certificate of naturalization, birth certificate, etc.) (Non-citizens can bring a Working Authorization Card, Green Card, or a passport with a valid US visa.)
  • Present education docs (e.g. copy of high school diploma or an equivalent document)
  • Provide evidence for passing the appropriate training (The applicants must pass two courses: Bloodborne Pathogen Training and First Aid Techniques Course. They have to attach the photocopies of verification of successful completion.)
  • Indicate any past convictions of a felony or misdemeanor (In case there are any, you have to submit a court record copy, an explanation of events leading to a felony or misdemeanor, and so on.)
  • Present past certifications (if you are a holder of a license from another state)

Yet, if you submit all the necessary documents and there will still be missing ones, don’t worry. In fact, the Department representatives will write you via email within about ten days. The purpose of the email is to ask you to resume your request. After that, you have nearly 3 months or strictly 90 days to do so.

Let’s assume you did everything right and sent every necessary documentation. Then you will receive the tattooer license within nearly ten days. Likewise, the situation is the same in some of the neighboring states such as Iowa where it takes approximately 1-2 weeks to receive it.

Similarly, parlors or businesses have to submit these two combined docs:

  • Application
  • Self-inspection report

Nebraska tattoo license payment of the costs

Simultaneously, the next thing you need to do is to pay the costs. At the present time, the department accepts checks or money orders; credit or debit cards.

  • Initial credentialing for all artists is $95 and the fee for facilities is $150.
  • Renewal for artists is $118 and it is again $150 for parlors. For the businesses, re-inspection may be obligatory which costs an additional $50.

In the meantime, if you belong to one of these groups your fee may be waived:

  • Military family
  • Low-income people
  • Young workers

How to reinstate or renew credentials?

Very importantly, let us differentiate between these two terms. Renewal is done within a 60-90-day period. In contrast, reinstatement is usually accomplished within 2-12 months.

If your credentials are inactive or have an expired status the reinstatement is possible through these three steps:

  • Submission of a request form
  • Completion of a 2 hours training course on Bloodborne Pathogens diseases within the last 2 years and an acceptable score on the exam
  • Payment of the fees

As a matter of fact, the renewal is plausible by passing a 2-hour continuing education on the same subject. In addition, the examination score must be shown as proof of the successful finalization of the seminar. Note that the workshop includes themes on sanitation, sterilization, safety, and infection control.

How to contact the Licensure Unit?

301 Centennial Mall South
P.O. Box 94986
Lincoln, NE 68509-4986
Phone number: (402)471-2117
E-Mail Address: DHHS.licensure2117@nebraska.gov

Marine K

Marine is an IT project manager and content writer. She has a degree in Management from YSEU. Currently she writes user friendly content for various business websites.